An unforgettable moment

May 8, 2008

Cinematic TitanicI have done some cool things over my years of being a publicist — spent the day talking about art with Martin Mull, soaked up stories of old Hollywood with Carol Channing, ate donuts and went bowling with Ron Jeremy , but I don’t think any compare with the night that the Cinematic Titanic (the former Mystery Science Theater 3000) guys made me into a riff at their live show. Cinematic Titanic is comprised of Joel Hodgson, Mary Jo Pehl, Trace Beaulieu, Frank Conniff, and J. Elvis Weinstein.

I had the privilege of doing publicity for their show on April 26 for the USA Film Festival. They are Very humble and modest about their success and popularity. They are all the absolute most friendly, gracious, and nicest people I have met in the film industry in a long time. I had quite the time keeping up with all of the publicity. Luckily, someone did it for me. (Thanks Hugh at Deep Ape!)

Back to my story about my unforgettable moment:

During their live riffing on Roger Corman’s “The Wasp Woman,” Joel said something like: “This isn’t a lab; it’s a Kelly Kitchen.” That was for ME!!!! They talked the night before about adding my name to the riffing. Frank said they should do it like Al Hirschfeld’s Ninas. “Can you count how many times we say Kelly Kitchens?” I had NO idea they were actually going to do it though!! Did anyone else catch it? What a way to be immortalized!!!

We (referring to my husband and other fans) are scheming ways to get them to come back and do more shows. They definitely need to tour with this show!

My favorite line of the night: “Oh look he’s Mr. Know-it-all even when no one is around.”

So, if you are game, let’s work together to get them back to Dallas and to take this show on the road!!

Leave a Reply

