“What do you most miss (or enjoy) about being single?”

March 24, 2008

Kelly and Suzanne - post-single life!

Maybe it is because I am still somewhat of a newlywed (1 yr. 5 mths. 2 days as of today — OK 3 days since it is after midnight), but I really don’t miss much. I have quite a bit of freedom in my marriage, which is fabulous. I realized recently that I don’t just spend hours upon hours on the phone with friends like I used to. Mark told me today that he thinks I do just because I was on the phone with a friend for 30 minutes, but he really has NO idea!

Suzanne and I used to spend hours and hours on the phone especially when we were both single. We would even call each other in the middle of the night if we needed help or just to talk through a difficulty with a client, a boyfriend or just because. And I love those times on the phone. They were (and are still) very meaningful to one extent or another.

I am really trying to spend time with friends, but I enjoy being with Mark so much even if we aren’t doing anything special that I have to remind myself from time to time to just touch base with others. I love it that Mark loves all of my friends and that all of my friends love Mark too! So we enjoy having them over for dinner like we did last week with Sondra and Danielle.

But I might not get so much time with them one-on-one as I used to, but I have such an amazing family of friends that I know they are there for me just as I am there for them no matter how much time passes.

One Response to ““What do you most miss (or enjoy) about being single?””

  1. MissWiggy said

    Newly single here, and I spend a ton of time on the phone with friends late at night. I did not do that when I was happily in love. It’s nice to know that support is still there.

    I miss many aspects of being in love, most especially having someone to hold in times of need. My friends are supportive, but nothing really compares to having the man you’re in love with hold you and make you feel so safe and complete in that moment.

    What I’m enjoying? Looking and being able to “touch”! But mostly, all the “me” time.

    damagedwithinrepair.com

Leave a Reply

